Home > Wage Earner > Benefit About

How Is the Benefit Amount Determined?

The benefit amount to which you are entitled is based on, among other things:

To find out the estimated amount of benefits to which you may be entitled, you can try the benefit calculation simulator before applying.

Qualifying Period

The qualifying period is the period for which your earnings This link opens in a new window. are taken into account to set your benefit amount. For wage earners, this period is normally the 52 weeks preceding the benefit period. It can, however, be extended to as many as 104 weeks if you were unable to work and receive insurable earnings (the earnings taken into account to set your benefit amount), in particular for the following reasons:

  • You received indemnities from the Commission des normes, de l’équité, de la santé et de la sécurité du travail.
  • You received employment insurance benefits.
  • You received benefits under the Québec Parental Insurance Plan (QPIP).
  • You received indemnities from the Société de l’assurance automobile du Québec.

Decrease in insurable earnings during the qualifying period

A measure taking into account decreases in insurable earnings during the qualifying period was in effect from November 5, 2009 to November 30, 2012. If you met certain conditions, you could request that the qualifying period taken into account to set the amount of your benefits be the 52-week period preceding the first week of your most recent decrease in insurable earnings. (Your insurable earnings are the earnings taken into account to set the amount of your benefits.)

Since December 1, 2012 (if you meet certain conditions), you can request that your qualifying period be changed if your usual insurable earnings This link opens in a new window. decreased for a period of time. You can request that the start date of the qualifying period taken into account to set the amount of your benefits be the 52-week period preceding the week of the most recent inability to receive a portion of your earnings for one of the following reasons:

  • During your qualifying period, you were unable to receive a portion of your earnings This link opens in a new window. for one of the following reasons:
    • you received employment insurance benefits or benefits under an Emploi-Québec employment assistance measure
    • you were ill, injured or pregnant
    • you were quarantined
    • you were detained in a prison, penitentiary or another similar institution
    • you were on strike or locked out
    • you were receiving indemnities from the Commission des normes, de l’équité, de la santé et de la sécurité du travail
    • you were receiving benefits under the QPIP
    • you were receiving indemnities from the Société de l’assurance automobile du Québec
    • you were receiving salary insurance
  • You must have been unable to receive a portion of your income This link opens in a new window. during the last 26 weeks of your qualifying period, weeks during which you were receiving insurable income. This provision only applies if the decrease in your income This link opens in a new window. occurred during the 52-week period preceding your benefit period and was for one of the reasons mentioned above.

Earnings

To establish your benefit amount, we take into account the earnings This link opens in a new window. on which you were required to contribute to the QPIP.

Steady employment income (salary)

We consider that your employment income was steady if you have had one employer and your normal gross weekly salary has always been the same over the 26 weeks preceding the date you wish your benefits to begin. (A public service employee is an example of a person in this situation.)

If this describes your situation and you wish to receive provisional benefits, you must declare the amount of your gross weekly income This link opens in a new window. (salary).

Variable employment income (salary)

We consider that your employment income was variable if your normal gross weekly salary has not always been the same over the 26 weeks preceding the date you wish your benefits to begin. For example, the number of hours varies from week to week; you receive tips or commissions; or you have not worked every week over the past year.

If this describes your situation, you must:

  • indicate the number of Records of Employment you have received over the 52 weeks preceding the date you wish your benefits to begin (a pay statement or T4 slip, for example, cannot replace a Record of Employment)
  • declare the dates of the calendar weeks (Sunday to Saturday) in which you neither worked nor received remuneration while you had a job

Increase for low-income families

The QPIP provides an additional amount for low-income families. If your net family income is less than $25,921, you may be granted an increase in benefits. Please note that remuneration that is insurable for the purposes of the QPIP received as a family-type resource or an intermediate ressource This link opens in a new window. is not included in net family income.

It is important that you inform us without delay of any change in your situation.

Last update: 2016-01-05

 
Portail du gouvernement du Québec © Gouvernement du Québec, 2017

Accueil > Travailleur salarié > Montant des prestations

Comment est déterminé le montant des prestations ?

Le montant des prestations auxquelles vous pourriez avoir droit est déterminé, entre autres, en fonction :

Pour connaître le montant estimé des prestations auquel vous pourriez avoir droit, vous pouvez faire l’essai du simulateur de calcul de prestations avant de faire votre demande.

Période de référence

La période de référence est la période pendant laquelle vos revenus sont pris en compte pour établir le montant de vos prestations. Si vous êtes une travailleuse salariée ou un travailleur salarié, cette période est habituellement constituée des 52 semaines qui précèdent la période de prestations. Toutefois, elle peut être prolongée jusqu’à 104 semaines si vous avez été dans l’incapacité de travailler et d’avoir un revenu assurable (revenu pris en compte pour le calcul du montant des prestations), notamment pour les raisons suivantes :

  • Vous avez reçu des indemnités de la Commission de la santé et de la sécurité du travail.
  • Vous avez reçu des prestations d’assurance-emploi.
  • Vous avez reçu des prestations du Régime québécois d’assurance parentale (RQAP).
  • Vous avez reçu des indemnités de la Société de l’assurance automobile du Québec.

Diminution du revenu assurable pendant la période de référence

Du 5 novembre 2009 au 30 novembre 2012, une mesure tenait compte des diminutions de revenus pendant la période de référence. Ainsi, si vous remplissiez certaines conditions, vous pouviez demander que la période de référence prise en compte pour le calcul de vos prestations soit la période de 52 semaines qui précède la première semaine où est survenue la plus récente diminution de votre revenu assurable (revenu pris en compte pour le calcul du montant des prestations).

Depuis le 1er décembre 2012, si vous remplissez certaines conditions, vous pourriez demander que la période de référence soit modifiée si votre revenu assurable habituel a diminué pendant une certaine période. Vous pourriez demander que la période de référence prise en compte pour le calcul de vos prestations corresponde à la période de 52 semaines qui précède la première semaine où survient la plus récente impossibilité de toucher une partie de votre revenu pour les raisons qui suivent.

  • Durant votre période de référence, vous avez été dans l’impossibilité de toucher une partie de votre revenu assurable pour l’une des raisons suivantes :
    • vous receviez des prestations d’assurance-emploi ou des prestations liées à une mesure d’aide à l’emploi d’Emploi-Québec;
    • vous étiez malade, vous aviez subi une blessure ou vous étiez enceinte;
    • vous étiez en quarantaine;
    • vous étiez en détention dans une prison, un pénitencier ou un autre établissement de même nature;
    • vous étiez en grève ou vous aviez été mis ou mise en lock-out;
    • vous receviez des indemnités de la Commission de la santé et de la sécurité du travail;
    • vous receviez des prestations du RQAP;
    • vous receviez des indemnités de la Société de l’assurance automobile du Québec;
    • vous receviez des indemnités en vertu d’un régime d’assurance salaire.
  • Vous devez avoir été dans l’impossibilité de toucher une partie de votre revenu au cours des 26 dernières semaines pendant lesquelles vous receviez un revenu assurable. De plus, cette disposition s’applique uniquement lorsque la diminution de votre revenu assurable, pour l’une des raisons mentionnées ci-dessus, s’est produite au cours des 52 semaines qui précèdent la période de prestations.

Revenus

Les revenus pris en compte pour établir le montant de vos prestations sont ceux soumis à une cotisation au RQAP.

Revenu d’emploi (salaire) régulier

Nous considérons que vous avez un salaire régulier si vous avez eu un seul employeur et que votre salaire hebdomadaire brut habituel a toujours été le même au cours des 26 semaines précédant la date à laquelle vous voulez que débutent vos prestations. Par exemple : vous êtes un employé ou une employée de la fonction publique.

Si vous êtes dans cette situation et que vous souhaitez recevoir des prestations provisoires, vous devez déclarer le montant de votre revenu (salaire) hebdomadaire brut.

Revenu d’emploi (salaire) irrégulier

Nous considérons que vous avez un salaire irrégulier si votre salaire hebdomadaire brut habituel n’a pas toujours été le même au cours des 26 semaines précédant la date à laquelle vous voulez que débutent vos prestations. Par exemple : le nombre d’heures travaillées chaque semaine est différent; vous recevez des pourboires ou des commissions; vous n’avez pas travaillé toutes les semaines au cours de la dernière année.

Si vous êtes dans cette situation, vous devez :

  • indiquer le nombre de relevés d’emploi que vous avez eus au cours des 52 semaines précédant la date à laquelle vous voulez que débutent vos prestations;
  • déclarer les dates au cours des semaines civiles (du dimanche au samedi) où vous n’avez ni travaillé ni reçu de rémunération alors que vous occupiez un emploi.

Majoration des prestations

Le RQAP prévoit un montant additionnel si votre revenu familial net est inférieur à 25 921 $. Le montant de vos prestations pourrait donc être augmenté. Prenez note que les rétributions assurables aux fins du RQAP obtenues à titre de ressource de type familial ou de ressource intermédiaire Lien ouvrant dans une fenêtre.  sont exclues du revenu familial net.

Il est important de nous informer sans tarder de tout changement à votre situation.

Dernière mise à jour : 30 novembre 2012