Home > Self-Employed Worker > Benefit Amount

How Is the Benefit Amount Determined?

The benefit amount to which you are entitled is based on factors such as the following:

To find out the estimated amount of benefits to which you may be entitled, you can try the benefit calculation simulator before applying.

Qualifying Period

The qualifying period is the period for which your earnings This link opens in a new window. are taken into account to set your benefit amount.

Business activities during the year preceding the year of the benefit period

If you were self-employed and had business activities during the calendar year preceding the year in which your benefit period begins, the qualifying period is the calendar year preceding your benefit period.

The qualifying period can be extended if you were unable to work and receive insurable earnings (the earnings taken into account to set your benefit amount), in particular for the following reasons:

  • You received indemnities from the Société de l’assurance automobile du Québec.
  • Illness, injury or pregnancy.
  • You received benefits under the Québec Parental Insurance Plan (QPIP)
  • You received indemnities from the Commission des normes, de l’équité, de la santé et de la sécurité du travail (CNESST)

Decrease in earnings during the qualifying period

A measure taking into account decreases in earnings during the qualifying period has been in effect since November 5, 2009. If you meet certain conditions, you can request that a portion of your insurable earnings This link opens in a new window. from the year preceding the qualifying year be used to set the amount of your benefits.

You qualifyfor this measure if you meet the following conditions:

  • During your qualifying period, your insurable earnings This link opens in a new window. decreased because you reduced the time devoted to your business for certain specific reasons, such as the following:
    • You received insurable earnings while receiving indemnities from the Commission des normes, de l’équité, de la santé et de la sécurité du travail (CNESST)
    • Your insurable earnings decreased due to illness, injury or pregnancy
    • You received insurable earnings while receiving benefits under the QPIP
    • You received insurable earnings while receiving indemnities from the Société de l’assurance automobile du Québec (SAAQ)
  • The decrease in earnings This link opens in a new window. occurred during your qualifying period, namely during the year preceding that in which your benefit period begins.
  • During the weeks your earnings decreased, you did not receive insurable earnings This link opens in a new window. from salary insurance.

First year of business activities

If you are self-employed and this is the first year of your business activities, the qualifying period is the calendar year in which your benefit period begins.

Activities as a family-type resource or an intermediate resource

If you offer services as a family-type resource or an intermediate ressource This link opens in a new window. and you receiveremuneration that is insurable for the purposes of the QPIP, the qualifying period is the calendar year in which your benefit period begins.

Business activities during the year preceding the year of the benefit period AND activities as a family-type resource or an intermediate resource

If you were self-employed and had business activities during the calendar year preceding the year in which your benefit period begins AND you also receive remuneration that is insurable for the purposes of the QPIP as a family-type resource or an intermediate ressource This link opens in a new window., the qualifying period is the calendar year preceding your benefit period.

First year of business activities AND activities as a family-type resource or an intermediate resource

If you are self-employed and this is the first year of your business activities AND you also receive remuneration that is insurable for the purposes of the QPIP as a family-type resource or an intermediate ressource This link opens in a new window., the qualifying period is the calendar year in which your benefit period begins.

Earnings

To establish your benefit amount, we take into account the earnings This link opens in a new window. on which you were required to contribute to the QPIP.

Business activities (self-employment) during the calendar year preceding the year in which your benefits begin

If you carried out business activities (self-employment) during the calendar year preceding the year in which your benefits begin, you must indicate the amount of income This link opens in a new window., profits, or losses that you entered or will enter in Schedule L (lines 22 to 26) of your Québec income tax return for that year.

Services provided as a family-type resource or an intermediate resource during the calendar year preceding the year in which your benefits begin

If, during the calendar year preceding the year in which your benefits begin, you offered services as a family-type resource or an intermediate resourceNew window. (for which you received remuneration that is insurable for the purposes of the QPIP), you must indicate the amount shown on line 40 of Schedule L of your Québec income tax return for that year.

Business activities (self-employment) during the current calendar year

If you began your business activities (self-employment) in the calendar year in which your benefits begin, you must provide an estimate of your net earnings from business for the year in which your benefits begin [net business income according to Schedule L (lines 22 to 26) of your Québec income tax return].

Services provided as a family-type resource or an intermediate resource during the current calendar year

If you offer services as a family-type resource or an intermediate resourceNew window. (for which you receive remuneration that is insurable for the purposes of the QPIP) and you began offering the services during the calendar year in which your benefits begin, you must estimate your remuneration for that year. The estimate must be as close as possible to the amount that you will declare on line 40 of Schedule L of your Québec income tax return for the year your benefits begin.

 

Increase for low-income families

The QPIP provides an additional amount for low-income families. If your net family income is less than $25,921, you may be granted an increase in benefits. Please note that remuneration that is insurable for the purposes of the QPIP received as a family-type resource or an intermediate ressource This link opens in a new window. is not included in net family income.

It is important that you inform us without delay of any change in your situation.

Last update: 2016-01-05

 
Portail du gouvernement du Québec © Gouvernement du Québec, 2017

Accueil > Travailleur autonome > Montant des prestations

Comment est déterminé le montant des prestations ?

Le montant des prestations auxquelles vous pourriez avoir droit est déterminé, entre autres, en fonction :

Pour connaître le montant estimé des prestations auquel vous pourriez avoir droit, vous pouvez faire l’essai du simulateur de calcul de prestations avant de faire votre demande.

Période de référence

La période de référence est la période pendant laquelle vos revenus sont pris en compte pour établir le montant de vos prestations.

Activités d'entreprise durant l’année précédant celle de la période de prestations

Si vous avez eu des activités d’entreprise en tant que travailleuse ou travailleur autonome au cours de l’année civile précédant l’année où commence votre période de prestations, la période de référence est l’année civile précédant votre période de prestations.

Cette période de référence peut être prolongée si vous avez été dans l’incapacité de travailler et d’avoir un revenu assurable (revenu pris en compte pour le calcul du montant des prestations), notamment pour les raisons suivantes :

  • Vous avez reçu des indemnités de la Société de l’assurance automobile du Québec.
  • Une maladie, une blessure ou une grossesse.
  • Vous avez reçu des prestations du Régime québécois d’assurance parentale (RQAP).
  • Vous avez reçu des indemnités de la Commission des normes, de l’équité, de la santé et de la sécurité du travail.

Baisse de revenu pendant la période de référence

Depuis le 5 novembre 2009, une mesure tient compte des baisses de revenus pendant la période de référence. Ainsi, si vous remplissez certaines conditions, vous pourriez demander à ce que le revenu assurable de l’année précédant votre année de référence soit utilisé en partie pour établir le montant de vos prestations.

Pour être admissible à cette mesure, vous devez remplir les conditions suivantes :

  • Durant votre période de référence, vous avez réduit le temps consacré à votre entreprise pour certains motifs et cela a entraîné une baisse de votre revenu assurable. Ces motifs sont, par exemple :
    • vous receviez un revenu assurable tout en recevant des indemnités de la Commission des normes, de l’équité, de la santé et de la sécurité du travail;
    • une maladie, une blessure ou une grossesse a entraîné une diminution de votre revenu assurable;
    • vous receviez un revenu assurable tout en recevant des prestations en vertu du RQAP;
    • vous receviez un revenu assurable tout en recevant des indemnités de la Société de l’assurance automobile du Québec.
  • Cette baisse de revenu est survenue au cours de votre période de référence, soit au cours de l’année précédant celle où commence votre période de prestations.
  • Durant les semaines où est survenue la baisse de revenu, vous ne receviez pas de revenu assurable d’une assurance salaire.

Première année d’activités d'entreprise

Si vous êtes une travailleuse ou un travailleur autonome qui en est à sa première année d’exploitation d’entreprise, la période de référence est l’année civile où commence votre période de prestations.

Activités à titre de ressource de type familial ou de ressource intermédiaire

Si vous offrez des services à titre de ressource de type familial ou de ressource intermédiaire Lien ouvrant dans une fenêtre. et que vous recevez une rétribution assurable aux fins du RQAP, la période de référence est l’année civile où commence votre période de prestations.

Activités d’entreprise durant l’année précédant celle de la période de prestations ET activité à titre de ressource de type familial ou de ressource intermédiaire

Si vous avez eu des activités d’entreprise en tant que travailleuse ou travailleur autonome au cours de l’année civile précédant l’année où commence votre période de prestations ET que vous recevez en plus une rétribution assurable aux fins du RQAP, à titre de ressource de type familial ou de ressource intermédiaire Lien ouvrant dans une fenêtre., la période de référence est l’année civile précédant votre période de prestations.

Première année d’activités d’entreprise ET activité à titre de ressource de type familial ou de ressource intermédiaire

Si vous êtes une travailleuse ou un travailleur autonome qui en est à sa première année d’exploitation d’entreprise ET que vous recevez en plus une rétribution assurable aux fins du RQAP, à titre de ressource de type familial ou de ressource intermédiaire Lien ouvrant dans une fenêtre., la période de référence est l’année civile où commence votre période de prestations.

Revenus

Les revenus pris en compte pour établir le montant de vos prestations sont ceux soumis à une cotisation au RQAP.

Activités d’entreprise (travail autonome) au cours de l’année civile précédant celle où commence votre période de prestations

Si vous avez pratiqué des activités d’entreprise (travail autonome) au cours de l’année civile précédant celle où commence votre période de prestations, vous devez indiquer le montant des revenus, des profits ou des pertes que vous avez inscrits ou que vous inscrirez à l’annexe L (lignes 22 à 26) de votre déclaration de revenus du Québec pour cette année.

Services à titre de ressource de type familial ou de ressource intermédiaire au cours de l’année civile précédant celle où commence votre période de prestations

Si vous avez offert des services à titre de ressource de type familial ou de ressource intermédiaireNouvelle fenêtre. pour lesquels vous avez reçu une rétribution assurable aux fins du RQAP, au cours de l’année civile précédant celle où commence votre période de prestations, vous devez inscrire le montant figurant à la ligne 40 de l'annexe L de votre déclaration de revenus du Québec pour cette année.

Activités d’entreprise (travail autonome) pendant l’année civile en cours

Si vous avez commencé à exercer les activités de votre entreprise (travail autonome) au cours de l’année civile où commence votre période de prestations, vous devez fournir le montant estimatif de votre revenu net d’entreprise pour cette année, selon l’annexe L (lignes 22 à 26) de votre déclaration de revenus du Québec.

Rétribution pour des services à titre de ressource de type familial ou de ressource intermédiaire au cours de l’année civile en cours

Si vous offrez des services à titre de ressource de type familial ou de ressource intermédiaireNouvelle fenêtre. pour lesquels vous recevez une rétribution assurable aux fins du RQAP et que vous avez commencé à exercer ces activités au cours de l’année civile où débute votre période de prestations, vous devez inscrire le montant estimatif de votre rétribution assurable pour cette année. Ce montant doit être le plus près possible de celui que vous allez déclarer à la ligne 40 de l’annexe L de votre déclaration de revenus du Québec.

Majoration des prestations

Le RQAP prévoit un montant additionnel si votre revenu familial net est inférieur à 25 921 $. Le montant de vos prestations pourrait donc être augmenté. Prenez note que les rétributions assurables aux fins du RQAP obtenues à titre de ressource de type familial ou de ressource intermédiaire Lien ouvrant dans une fenêtre.  sont exclues du revenu familial net.

Il est important de nous informer sans tarder de tout changement à votre situation.

Dernière mise à jour :05 janvier 2016

 
Portail du gouvernement du Québec © Gouvernement du Québec, 2017