Background

1996

At the Economic and Employment Summit, Québec employers were favourable to the implementation of a Québec Parental Insurance Plan.

Likewise, union and social partners approved the project. They set up the “Regroupement pour un système d'assurance parentale” – a coalition of fifteen organizations representing unionized and non-union workers, self-employed workers as well as citizens concerned with the living conditions of families.

Québec advised Ottawa of its intention to implement its own parental insurance system. In December, Ottawa expressed its readiness to negotiate the matter with Québec.

1997

Québec and Ottawa held seven bargaining sessions between March 24 and July 22. Three major points remained unresolved and the negotiations failed. In August, Québec was forced to delay the implementation of the Québec Parental Insurance Plan.

1999

The federal government announced its intention to bolster the employment insurance system with regard to maternity benefits, parental benefits and adoption benefits. The upgraded system came into effect on December 31, 2000.

Québec decided to contest, before the Court of Appeal of Québec, the constitutionality of the maternity benefits, parental benefits and adoption benefits granted under the Employment Insurance Act.

2000

At the Sommet du Québec et de la jeunesse, all groups reiterated the importance of having a parental insurance system in Québec and agreed to firmly support the Québec government’s efforts in that direction.

2001

In May, the Act respecting parental insurance is unanimously adopted by the National Assembly.

2004

The Court of Appeal rules in Québec’s favour.

Ottawa appeals the decision before the Supreme Court of Canada.

On March 11, Québec and Ottawa resume negotiations. They sign an agreement in principle on May 21, by which a final agreement would be concluded by February 1, 2005, at the latest.

2005

On March 1, Québec and Ottawa sign the Canada-Québec Final Agreement on the Parental Insurance Plan - a crucial step in implementing the System.

On June 16, the Act to amend the Act respecting parental insurance and other legislative provisions is adopted by the National Assembly.

On October 20, the Supreme Court of Canada renders its decision. It rejects Québec’s arguments to the effect that maternity benefits, parental benefits and adoption benefits paid under the Employment Insurance Act overstep Québec’s jurisdiction and exceed that of the Parliament of Canada. The decision has no effect whatsoever on the terms of the Québec Parental Insurance Plan, because the Canada-Québec Final Agreement continues to have precedence.

2006

The Québec Parental Insurance Plan comes into effect on January 1.

Last update: 2009-06-11

 
Portail du gouvernement du Québec © Gouvernement du Québec, 2017

Historique

1996

À l’occasion du Sommet sur l’économie et l’emploi, les employeurs québécois se montrent favorables à la mise en place d’un régime québécois d’assurance parentale.

De la même façon, les partenaires syndicaux et sociaux accueillent positivement le projet. Ils mettent d’ailleurs sur pied le Regroupement pour un régime d’assurance parentale. Il s’agit d’une coalition de quinze organisations représentant des travailleuses et des travailleurs syndiqués et non syndiqués, des travailleuses et des travailleurs autonomes ainsi que des citoyennes et des citoyens préoccupés par les conditions de vie des familles.

Québec signifie à Ottawa son intention de mettre en œuvre son propre régime d’assurance parentale. En décembre, Ottawa se dit prêt à négocier avec le Québec.

1997

Entre le 24 mars et le 22 juillet, Québec et Ottawa tiennent sept séances de négociations. Trois points majeurs demeurent en litige et font échouer les négociations. En août, Québec est forcé de reporter la mise en œuvre du Régime québécois d’assurance parentale.

1999

Le gouvernement fédéral annonce son intention de bonifier le régime d’assurance-emploi au chapitre des prestations de maternité, des prestations parentales et des prestations d’adoption. Le régime bonifié entre en vigueur le 31 décembre 2000.

Le Québec décide alors de contester en Cour d’appel du Québec la validité constitutionnelle des prestations de maternité, des prestations parentales et des prestations d’adoption accordées en vertu de la Loi sur l’assurance-emploi.

2000

À l’occasion du Sommet du Québec et de la jeunesse, tous les groupes réitèrent l’importance de se doter, au Québec, d’un régime d’assurance parentale. Ils conviennent alors d’appuyer fermement les démarches du gouvernement du Québec à cet effet.

2001

En mai, la Loi sur l’assurance parentale est adoptée à l’unanimité par l’Assemblée nationale.

2004

La Cour d’appel donne raison au Québec.

Ottawa en appelle de cette décision devant la Cour suprême du Canada.

Le 11 mars, Québec et Ottawa reprennent les négociations. Ils signent une entente de principe le 21 mai, laquelle prévoit qu’une entente finale serait conclue au plus tard le 1er février 2005.

2005

Le 1er mars, Québec et Ottawa signent l’Entente finale Canada-Québec sur le Régime québécois d’assurance parentale, entente qui constitue une étape cruciale dans la mise en œuvre du Régime.

Le 16 juin, la Loi modifiant la Loi sur l’assurance parentale et d’autres dispositions législatives est adoptée par l’Assemblée nationale.

Le 20 octobre, la Cour suprême du Canada rend son jugement. Elle rejette les arguments du Québec selon lesquels les prestations de maternité, les prestations parentales et les prestations d’adoption versées en vertu de la Loi sur l’assurance-emploi empiètent sur le champ de compétence du Québec et excèdent le champ de compétence du Parlement du Canada. Cette décision ne change strictement rien aux paramètres du Régime québécois d’assurance parentale, puisque c’est l’Entente finale Canada-Québec qui continue de prévaloir.

2006

Le Régime québécois d’assurance parentale entre en vigueur le 1er janvier.

Dernière mise à jour : 11 juin 2009

 
Portail du gouvernement du Québec © Gouvernement du Québec, 2017